Five Stages of a Grieving Heart


United States
34° 2' 22.9776" N, 117° 45' 17.748" W
United States
Denial:  I should have known from the very beginning.  None of this would have started if I just stayed away.  I was in denial over what others said about us that would make me blush.  They apparently saw something that we didn’t see ourselves and I refused to believe.   Love is blind.

Anger:  The anger came when I saw you with her.  I didn’t think it would happen, but it did.  Jealously filled my mind as she shot down my chances.  I forced myself not to be bothered, sacrificing my own happiness for yours.  Love is hate.

Bargaining:  I begged God to send me a sign that you were the one for me.  Anything I could do, I would do it for you.  I fell so hard for you that I so desperately wanted us together forever.  Love is silent.

Depression:  By far the longest, most enduring stage my heart and mind have had to overcome.  Knowing where we stand and knowing where we can never be.  I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t sleep.  An intense ache struck my body that I could not control.  Love is pain.

Acceptance:  My heart, like a phoenix, has been reborn again.  Risen from the ashes of its former self.  Finally, I have moved on, ready to start anew.  Don’t lose yourself.  Love is out there.  Love is real.


Need to talk?

If you ever need help or support, we trust for people dealing with depression. Text HOME to 741741